Wednesday, July 15, 2009

I'm pregnant!

Whenever I heard someone say that their pregnancy was an accident or unplanned I always thought to myself, "Well you did know that their was a chance of getting pregnant if you don't use protection right?! DUH!" Well, I had to eat my words when I got pregnant.

I'd been dating my guy for 5 years before we got engaged. More than half a year later we still hadn't picked out a date. There was no rush. We were living together and I felt like we were already married anyways. I always talked about having kids and wanting a baby, even more than wanting to be married. My guy was more ambivalent about it and wanted to wait until we were both in our thirties. I was on birth control for most of our relationship but had stopped about a year earlier because I just got annoyed with it. I had switched to some awful brand covered by my health insurance that would give me an upset stomach. I forgot to take my pill quite often. And after 5 years of dating, we were not having sex as often as we were during the first few years (yes, I know, passion does fade). So we just swtiched over to using condoms.

One night after having two large mojoitos, I wasn't thinking clearly enough to use protection (I don't know what he was thinking). About a month and a half later my boobs started to swell and I was feeling bloated and tired. Same symptoms as my period! So everyday for about two weeks I thought that I was going to get my period any day now. What a relief! Well, my period never came. I brought a pregnancy test from the drugstore. It came with two of the positive negitive type test and one digital test. After getting home on a Friday night I used one of the positive negitive tests. When I looked at the result, I thought "Oh, not pregnant, okay". Then after another minute I decided to take another look at the test and realized that I had read it wrong. That's another thing I thought was silly before getting pregnant. How can anyone misread a pregnancy test?! Well, I did and I have a J.D. degree under my belt okay! I took the digital pregnancy test and the result clearly stated "PREGNANT". I'm pregnant! My first reaction was worry. I was worried about how my fiance was going to handle and I was nervous was about telling him. That night, we went out to dinner with our friends and I tried to act as normal as I could. Except I had a soda instead of beer.

Early the next morning, I learned over to him while we were both in bed and said, "I have something to tell you, I'm pregnant". The first words out of his mouth were "Fuck, Shit, Shit, Shit". No, I'm not exaggerating. Those were his exact words. I wasn't upset about it. I thought it would be worse. Like he might run out of the room and hop on the first flight out. To triple confirm things, I took the last pregnancy test and showed it to him. See! I'm pregnant. Here's proof. Then he told me that we would just work things out, hugged me, and asked me if it was ok if he hung out with his friends that night.

No comments:

Post a Comment